RSS

Pass me the Vegemite, please

07 May

Beach relax

Hello and welcome back to reality. I mean, Germany. After a week in Australia, where Jonas and I again nailed over a dozen interviews, I’m back here, getting used to our new place, which is not hard to do at all. šŸ™‚

IMG_2395

We were in Melburne. Oh, no, it’s spelled Melbourne! But pronounced “Melburne,” and Jonas never let me forget it. There, the coffee and food culture is beyond compare. The city was spectacular and we had time to explore during the weekend in between work days. They take their coffee very very seriously there. On every corner you find a coffee shop filled with patrons. Each place offering more or less the same assortment. But apparently they are all unique as people will swear by the coffee place they visit every day, the barista who works there, probably the cows that create the milk that they use in their “flat whites.” I tried a flat white. Bah. Just a Latte. Obviously I’m completely ignorant.

IMG_2443

But I must say, they are beautiful – these coffees shops every where. And they serve up some gorgeous coffee as well.

IMG_2452

IMG_2444

IMG_2235

I can’t say that we ever had an AMAZING meal. We were pretty busy seeing the sights and pretty tired in the beginning, getting over our jetlag.

IMG_2361Ā Ā  IMG_2364Ā Ā  IMG_2367

Which was maybe a touch easier for me, as the company was willing to fly me business class while my poor intern colleague had to sit in economy. Just down there – breakfast before landing in Abu Dhabi, the 1/3 of the way there mark.

IMG_2188

IMG_2183

Etihad does a fairly good job of spoiling biz class passengers. The hard part is trying to decide between trying out a bunch of things or just sleeping. On the way there I was curious and probably ate more than I should have. On the way back, I simply slept most of the way.

The city was beautiful. A combination feeling of California, Singapore and Munich somehow. The hustle-bustle of a city plus the strong influence of Asia (Singapore), with the beauty of the coast nearby (California), but still a laid-back feeling (Munich).

IMG_2412

IMG_2276

IMG_2297

IMG_2401

IMG_2270

IMG_2301

IMG_2335

IMG_2376

IMG_2349

IMG_2253IMG_2259

We rented the city bikes to get around, which was easy and convenient.

IMG_2323

And saved a little of our per diem money simply by eating breakfast in our room/s. So we could spend it on sight seeing.

IMG_2271

Yeah, and I learned to actually like vegemite. Words I thought would never come from my mouth. But indeed, spread very thinly under a few slices of avocado and a boiled egg…wow.

IMG_2334

Back home now, I’m learning to use all my new kitchen appliances. The stove is awesome. And even with little energy now that I am jet lagged again, it’s easy to saute some quail breasts, slice them thinly on toast, and put the rest in the fridge or freezer for another day/meal.

IMG_2174

I love the Togarashi spice blend I bought in California a few weeks back. Spicy citrus and seaweed flavors plus a touch of salt. Saute after sprinkling on both sides, done.

IMG_2176

Tonight will be the first test of the steam oven.

And now, time to run.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2016 in airplaine food, Asian, Travel

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Pass me the Vegemite, please

  1. southernafricatravelsblog

    May 7, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    Looks amazing

     
  2. Christian

    May 13, 2016 at 4:50 pm

    Flat white = Latte?? You must be ignorant! šŸ™‚

     
    • diginibble

      May 15, 2016 at 10:26 pm

      Ha. Just a black coffee kind of person. šŸ˜‰

       

Leave a Reply

 
