RSS

Addiction

23 Apr

Tell me, please, how it’s possible that the end of April has already arrived. Last time I looked at a calendar it was January. Don’t get me wrong: I’m very happy that we have scenes like this just outside my home:

IMG_0699

and scenes like this when in Hamburg for a day of client visits:

IMG_0709

Those gorgeous blossoming trees really are a motivation to get out of bed for the day, go for a run…and then maybe sit down to a bowl of this:

IMG_0847

Ummmmmmm. The photo doesn’t even begin to do justice to my new breakfast addiction. (And I have quite a few nice new breakfast suggestions here.) Have you ever made a granola mix yourself? I hadn’t. Friends, let me tell you, if you like to eat cereal in the morning…this stuff is crazy good. Yes, I will reveal the secret ingredients. What’s nice is that it’s also easy and fast to make.

I started with this recipe as a basis for what I ended up with. And I admit, I didn’t stray too far from it.

Nevertheless, here’s my version, tweaked a bit (consider doing a recipe and a half or even doubling it, this stuff goes fast!):

Coconut Cardamom Granola

Ingredients

2 cups whole oats

1 cup coconut flakes (not the tiny flake shreds, you want the large flake)

1 cup pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup whole almonds

1/4 cup hemp seeds (see – that must be where the addiction comes in)

1/4 cup chia seeds

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

2 Tbsp maple syrup

1 ½ tsp cardamom powder

2 tsp cinnamon powder

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

Mix together all the seeds and grains in a bowl:

IMG_0837

On the stove, melt your coconut oil in a small pot, add the honey, maple syrup, vanilla, salt, cinnamon and cardamon. Stir to combine. Remove from stove, pour the mixture over the mixed grains and nuts, and stir until the liquid is even distributed over the rest.

Spread the mixture on a baking tray, and bake in the oven at 275 F/135 C for about 45 minutes.

IMG_0838

Stir every 10 minutes for a few seconds to make sure you are evening toasting the mix. When the coconut flakes begin to get nice and toasty brown, remove the mixture from the oven, let cool, and then store it in the air-tight container of your choice.

IMG_0844

I haven’t yet tried to create granola bars from this mix, but I guess that is next on the spring agenda.

IMG_0846

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
