RSS

Fusion Food: Indian-Italian

14 Jul
Isar dip

Isar dip

The sun pulled me outside most of the weekend. There was little urge to cook. But I knew I’d be sorry if I didn’t do something simple this evening as the next two nights are back in a hotel in Cologne. And the hotel food is usually abysmal, although I grabbed a new one right on the water this time – with a restaurant that looks at least decent, if I eat there at all. Looks like a long work night tomorrow, but a good project with talented colleagues, so not bad at all.

Simple for me is almost always something Indian or Italian – flavors I love, reasonably fast to pull together, lots of vegetables usually, healthy if you stay away from the coconut milk and cream recipes. But I didn’t want straight Indian or straight Italian – and I didn’t want something really warm. So I ended up fusing a bunch of concepts together, which thankfully worked out fine.

I got up early – around 7 – and pulled together a chicken curry while I ate breakfast and drank coffee – chicken, onions and garlic, tomatoes, yogurt, some turmeric, chilies, salt, curry leaves. Let it simmer for about 45 minutes and then turned it off.  Worked for a few hours and then went swimming in the cold cold cold Isar. Had lunch with a friend, then headed home to relax on the sofa and read.

Chicken curry

Chicken curry

At 6 pm, cooked some nice big torgliolini, shaved a half a zucchini, chopped up a few raw tomatoes, little sweet peppers, and a handful of cilantro. Drained the pasta, pulled the meat off the bones of the chicken, ladled some of the sauce over the noodles and tossed it with all the rest of the ingredients – the raw vegetables – for some crunch.

Veggies for the fusion dish

Veggies for the fusion dish

I’m debating if I should take some of the leftovers on the train with me tomorrow morning. Probably not…but it’s tempting.

Indian Italian pasta salad

Indian Italian pasta salad

 

 
 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
