RSS

Looks like Munich, Feels like Singapore

17 Jun
Heat wave abates for the day

Heat wave abates for the day

I might have named this post “having your cake and eating it too,” but that is really only tangentially the topic at hand.

Here in Munich it is finally summer. I don’t dare complain. Riding my bike home from work, I just wasn’t sure it was *really* Munich, because it is soooo hot and fairly humid at the moment. More like Singapore. Although I hear/read that in Singapore the smog/haze is back, so I’m quite glad I am not in Singapore. Munich will do just fine, thank you very much, although I wouldn’t object to a nice bowl of Laksa just about now…. Hmm. Might be an idea…anyway… We are told to expect about a week of the heat before things begin to cool off a bit. Fine. There is likely no travel this week, maybe just a day-trip on Thursday, so I can deal with a little sweat.

It would have been nice to have been at our Cologne offices, where I am occasionally these days – I’m envious of the guys who sit up at the top of the new space we have there, overlooking the quaint little courtyard with very beautiful potted olive trees.

Office courtyard

Office courtyard

They have quite the view – both into the courtyard, but also the buildings just across the way. Nice summer feeling on the balconies there.

Speaking of which…don’t you want to jump in?

Isar waves

Isar waves

Looking forward to a run in the morning. Will go early while it is still cool(er).

When I get back…there will still be a few bites of this cake, which I made for a picnic yesterday.

Coconut Tres Leches Cake

Coconut Tres Leches Cake

Not my photo but mine looked the same except for the fact that my pan was round. There was a wedge left over after the picnic…delicious when eaten very cold straight out of the fridge with a spoon.

But thus…a run is in order.

The recipe is here. Have a look. It’s reasonably fast and easy – you just need some time to let it cool off and let the milk soak in for about an hour. Keeps well…if you don’t eat it all right away…for a few days.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
