RSS

What to do with an apricot?

01 Jul
Dessert: French Apricot tart with almonds

Dessert: French Apricot tart with almonds

Yesterday somehow ended up being a bit of a rush. Got out late, and here in Munich it is hot hot hot. So off to the gym for the run/workout rather than a 10k run under a pitiless sun. I think I might have collapsed from dehydration. But eventually the workout ended and I also didn’t have to suffer under the hair dryer/hair iron afterwards because there was no way I was going to bother with my hair in that heat.

I knew I wasn’t in much of a mood to cook – we’d go out or take something in on Saturday and I figured I would cook something easy and no fuss on Sunday (which I’ve done, you’ll see in a moment.). But as I picked up groceries in the afternoon yesterday, I couldn’t help but be lured in by some seasonal fresh apricots. They were hollering my name to pick them up.

I find that apricots can be either sublime or a terribly disappointing mealy bummer. You never really know what you’re going to get until you buy a dozen of them and take them home. Which is what I proceeded to do – the worst that could happen would be that they would be awful.

But they weren’t and suddenly I had a dozen apricots on my hands or more to eat or do something with. I munched through a few yesterday but this morning I looked at them with not a little chagrin. There would be no way I would be able to finish them before they turned to mush.

I’ve been craving a fruit tart anyway. Last week I brought home a dozen fresh plums and couldn’t make my way through them (and forget anyone else eating any fruit in this household, it doesn’t happen unless the fruit has been “processed.”) They sit there now on my windowsill, what is left of them, looking sad and a little forlorn. Probably two or three will be eaten tomorrow and then that will be it. They will be sacrificed to the circular file system.

Anyway, back to the apricots. I threw together a quick pie dough and stored it in the fridge for later. Made my way out and came back a few hours later to roll the dough out and bake it. The rest came together quickly and now there is only the eating to do. An apricot tart, I have found in the past, is very lovely when made with a filling of ground almonds, cream, honey, butter. Simple stuff that merges into a wonderful summer dessert. Top it with vanilla ice cream and it is heaven. (I have none, so there will be no heaven tonight).

To accompany it or rather to pave the way, I grabbed every vegetable out of my bin along with a smattering of tofu, sausages, chicken, fried eggs, and tossed them all in with some fried rice seasoned with fresh herbs and squeezes of lime juice. Easy, fast and satisfying. Now when did you say you were coming over for a piece of apricot tart?

Some assembly required: fried rice ingredients

Some assembly required: fried rice ingredients

One dish meal: easy fried rice
One dish meal: easy fried rice

Perfect fried rice with slice of lime

Perfect fried rice with slice of lime

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “What to do with an apricot?

  1. Larry Nathan

    July 2, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    I have all this brown rice left over, but I don’t get how to make this little gem. Help? Mom

     

Leave a Reply

 
