RSS

The Report: “Special Meal” on Lufthansa

25 Apr
Vegetarian (Indian) Special Meal

Vegetarian (Indian) Special Meal

Ok, I admit, it doesn’t look all that appetizing. But if you think about what you normally get on an airplane – some soggy peas and carrots plotzing under a cardboard-dry grey piece of chicken with an unidentifiable lump of something (mashed potatoes?) next to it…you have to be fair with your comparison. Because after eating this vague mix of mashed up looking stuff (with some rice in the middle), I have to say that for all future cross-atlantic trips, I will never be eating the terrible Spaghetti Bolognese or Chicken Teriyaki again.

This here is the “Vegetarian (Indian) Meal” that I special ordered about 26 hours before I got on the flight home. And it was pretty good. Fairly standard stuff for Indian food – a Paneer Masala, some dal and some rice. A little bit of yogurt. A strange “salad” of chana (chickpeas) that was the only sort of odd dish because Indians would never eat chickpeas that way – with no spices, just plain. At least I don’t think they would. And contrary to predictions (take note, Dirk), there *was* a dessert – the orange stuff in the corner there was a reasonably tasty carrot halwa.

There seemed to be quite a few people ordering special meals on the flight – I was mostly surrounded by Italians, although I don’t know why, and some of them had ordered meals as well, although I didn’t get a good look at them. Two orthodox Jewish men sat one row ahead of me and they received a very carefully packaged Kosher meal. I tried craning my neck to see what they had in there (order kosher next time?), but no luck. Amusing was the fact that the meals seemed to come packaged with prayers or readings. I saw one of the men pull out the slip of paper from his tray and read it after the meal.

One other amusement on the flight. About half-way through I turned to see a DOG on the plane in the row a little further down. A little guy, he was sitting at that point between his owners on the seat – quite a surprise because I always thought they had to stay in their little cage under the seat for the whole flight. Later, when I snapped this shot, he was on the floor. He was quiet as a mouse, though. It was only chance that I even noticed him there.

Pooch in the plane

Pooch in the plane

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “The Report: “Special Meal” on Lufthansa

  1. Caro

    April 25, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    Like the dog story (obviously 😉 ) – could really imagine him sitting there very quietly. But I also thought that they had to stay in their cages.

     

Leave a Reply

 
