RSS

The end of the month in the big apple

24 Mar
Pussywillows blooming everywhere along the High Line

Pussy willows blooming everywhere along the High Line

Woo hoo! I’m home. I think I must have woken up 20 times last night in a fuzzy half-conscious state wondering where I was. The way you map your dark bedroom in your head – there’s the light, there’s the window, here is the edge of the bed, bathroom in that direction – it was completely skewed after a month of sleeping somewhere else. But still, when the fuzz cleared for a half a second, there was the satisfactory feeling of “oh, I am in my own bed and it is so comfortable!”

Yesterday, after landing in the morning and heading home, throwing in a load of laundry, taking a shower, eating some toast and an egg, I jumped on the bike and peddled into work to get my month of expense reports done (you know what it costs to live in a hotel in new york for a month? you better up your credit card limit…omg), taking the scenic route along the river. Beautiful weather, and there were sunbathers all along the banks of the Isar enjoying it. There was a moment, as I crossed a bridge to head into the inner city that I almost stopped and got off my bike to take a photo of the green blue river, the sunlight, the bathers, the bridge. But then thought…why not just enjoy it…and so I did. No photo for you, sorry.

As I was riding, I really considered the month in New York and the varied conversations with friends, family, and client about whether I could move to New York, and the feeling at least at that moment was that there would be no way I could trade the serenity of Munich for the hussle and crazy creativity of New York. I am definitely a “great to visit, but can’t live here” kind of New York person. But I have also learned: never say never.

Cherry blossoms?

Cherry blossoms?

And I have to admit, the last few days in New York were also splendid. Blossoms opening everywhere, and inside the buildings and museums, the city was celebrating the explosions of color too – my mother probably took 20 photos of the forsythias in the lobby of the Met when we were there.

Forsythia in the lobby of the Met

Forsythia in the lobby of the Met

Weather a perfect cool 65 degrees Fahrenheit. Taco trucks everywhere. šŸ˜‰ Sarah, the information architect I brought in from Germany to help me for two weeks, had arrived a couple days back and for my last day I dragged her over to get lunch with me at the third taco truck I think I’ve tried. Perhaps the best yet!

Taco truck lunch

Taco truck lunch

These were from a lunch a few days before the kimchi taco lunch, but look more or less the same:

Korean tacos for lunch

Korean tacos for lunch

I know I should rave more about the great restaurants I got to visit while I was there:

Milos – the best greek seafood I’ve ever had. Fresh, almost no sauces – very pure flavors.

Esca – again seafood, this time Italian, I ordered some sea urchin pasta! Lovely.

And then there was the untried but highly desired place I missed out on because there was no chance in hell I was going to wait 2+ hours to get in: Redfarm. Believe me, I walked by a couple times to ask if they had room for one. The owner and host looked at me and said “We don’t discriminate against single diners, we just don’t have room for you for at least 2 hours.” My colleague, Alex, had the same experience when he tried to get in a few days earlier alone.

The biggest “foodie” experience, though, was probably still the trucks. It wasn’t the best food (Esca was!), but it was great fun to look at Edible City every day and find out who/what was cruising around the office.

I can’t say I am looking forward to the long flight back to New York in a week, but there are always great things there to enjoy.

West Village flowers

West Village flowers

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
