RSS

Sporific!

24 Feb

Caro was the inspiration a few weeks back for me to look around to see where I could get a mushroom culture over here. I had one once in the US, the so-named “Brick of Rot” that one of my good friends bought me as a gift. “Brick of Rot” simply because these substrates loaded with their spores and vitamins and whatever other goodies…well…are really not very pretty.

I had forgotten all about the fact that I ordered it at the beginning of the week because of the rather chaotic mid-week news that I am going to New York City for a month to work. :-/ And then it arrived yesterday and I unpacked the somewhat more gigantic than expected substrate from the box.The thing is as big as one of my cats!

But, these things are incredibly easy to take care of. You just make sure that they get enough light/darkness and that they don’t get too hot or cold and you spray them with water once or twice a day. Then a few weeks later, out pop the mushrooms. You clip them off and cook ’em up. I was really looking forward to it.

But…this little mushroom farm instead will be donated to my voluntary mushroom babysitter, Mallorie, as I don’t think the US customs agents would be very amused with me trying to carry the thing into my home country.

I ordered it here and am looking forward to ordering a fresh one when I get back in a month…until then…happy farming, Mallorie! I’ll send you some recipes.

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Sporific!

  1. Caro

    February 24, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    Perhaps the inspiration provider and the babysitter could meet up for a delicious mushroom dish? 😉

     
    • diginibble

      February 25, 2012 at 8:38 am

      I think that’s a great idea! :-))) I will tell Mallorie that she needs to mush it out with you. Curious to see how fast the thing grows. And you can help Mallorie with recipes…cooking…;-) The variety is “nameko” – little brown Japanese mushrooms that should be very nice in a noodle soup…

       

Leave a Reply

 
