RSS

Nettles

21 Nov
Shadowland

Shadowland – late afternoon hiking near Starnberg

Yesterday afternoon I ended up again in the Viktualienmarkt looking for kale. It’ll be in season for a couple more weeks and it is still hard to find anywhere else in Munich. The place I’ve found that sells it also had a huge pile of nettles for sale. I reached out to touch them…just to lightly place a finger tip on a leaf to see if I would get stung, and the woman there yelled at me not to touch. She was more worried than I was, I guess.

Nettles

Nettles – many thanks to Greg Fewer for allowing me to use his photo

Amy has told me that she’s cooked them before, but I don’t think I have even tasted them before. So now I am curious. But I stuck with the kale yesterday (and the salad it ended up in today was scrumptious – crazy mix of anchovies, garlic and dates in the dressing – it sounds like it would be terrible, but I think it is one of the best salads I have made in months. (Recipe here.) )

This afternoon, Britta and I took the S-bahn down to Lake Starnberg to walk around for a few hours before coming back to cook dinner together. And the roads we walked along were teeming with nettles. Everywhere. Making me curious again. But I didn’t have any gloves to collect them, and truthfully, what do you make with them other than soup? How do you get the sting out of them? I think it goes when you cook them…

Lovely fall day today, but damn cold already.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Nettles

  1. Caro

    November 21, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    You can do stuffed mushrooms with nettles. I had them once at friends’ and they have a very special taste (especially if you don’t care picking just the very young ones). In the end this special taste was living on my tongue for the rest of the day and I decided not to have them again. They are a little like spinach but may taste weird if you eat too much of them.

     
  2. diginibble

    November 22, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    hmm. Ok. Sounds like worth trying at least once….maybe next week some time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
